Visa Free Countries for Filipinos

In this article

Filipino citizens can travel to more than thirty countries completely visa-free, and they are eligible for a Visa on Arrival or eVisa for another fifty-plus countries. This rounds up the number to over 80 countries where Filipinos can travel without needing to deal with excessive bureaucratic procedures at different Embassies.

Visa Free Countries for Filipinos

Filipinos don’t need a visa to travel to the following countries:

  1. Barbados – up to 90 days
  2. Bolivia – up to 90 days
  3. Brazil – up to 90 days
  4. Cambodia – up to 30 days
  5. Colombia – 90 days, extendable for another 90 days
  6. Costa Rica – up to 90 days. You will get 30 days on arrival, and you can extend it up to 90 days once in Costa Rica.
  7. Côte d’Ivoire – up to 90 days
  8. Dominica – up to 21 days
  9. Ecuador – up to 90 days
  10. Fiji – up to 4 months
  11. Haiti – up to 3 months
  12. Hong Kong – up to 14 days
  13. Indonesia – up to 30 days
  14. Israel – up to 3 months
  15. Kazakhstan
  16. Laos – up to 30 days
  17. Macao – up to 30 days
  18. Malaysia – up to 30 days
  19. Micronesia – up to 30 days
  20. Mongolia – up to 21 days
  21. Morocco – up to 90 days
  22. Myanmar – up to 14 days; also eligible for a Myanmar eVisa for up to 28 days
  23. Palestine
  24. Peru – up to 183 days
  25. Rwanda – up to 90 days
  26. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines – up to 1 month
  27. Singapore – up to 30 days
  28. Suriname – up to 90 days
  29. Taiwan – up to 14 days. The visa-free program for Filipinos has been extended until July 31, 2020
  30. Thailand – up to 30 days
  31. The Gambia – up to 90 days. However, unless you are a tourist on a charter flight, entry clearance from the Gambian Immigration is required before travelling).
  32. The Hainan province of China.
  33. Vanuatu – up to 30 days
  34. Vietnam – up to 21 days. Filipinos are also eligible for the Vietnam eVisa, which is valid for 30 days.

How Can Filipinos Travel Visa-Free?

Traveling visa-free means that you only need to show your passport and travel ticket to the Immigration officers when you arrive in a foreign country. You won’t have to apply for a visa at all – unless you want to stay longer than allowed.

In some cases, such as when traveling to Morocco, Thailand, and Ecuador, you also have to show proof you have bought travel insurance.

  • Travel insurance for Morocco
  • Travel insurance for Thailand
  • Travel insurance for Ecuador

Here is the complete list of countries that you cannot enter without adequate travel insurance.

Countries Where Filipinos Can Get Visa on Arrival

There are about 28 countries that allow Filipino citizens to apply for a Visa on Arrival. Although it is not the same as traveling visa-free, getting a Visa on Arrival is the next best thing.

  1. Armenia – up to 120 days. You can also apply for an eVisa.
  2. Azerbaijan, but only if you have a residence permit for the UAE.
  3. Benin – up to 8 days.
  4. Comoros – up to 45 days.
  5. Iran – up to 30 days.
  6. Kenya – up to 3 months.
  7. Kyrgyzstan – up to 1 month. You must enter through the Manas International Airport.
  8. Madagascar – up to 90 days.
  9. Malawi – up to 30 days. You can extend your stay to 90 days once you arrive.
  10. Marshall Islands – up to 90 days.
  11. Mauritania, if you arrive through the Nouakchott–Oumtounsy International Airport.
  12. Mauritius – up to 60 days.
  13. Mozambique – up to 30 days.
  14. Nepal – up to 90 days.
  15. Nicaragua – up to 90 days.
  16. Pakistan – as long as you have an Electronic Travel Authorization for business purposes.
  17. Papua New Guinea – up to 60 days
  18. Saint Lucia – up to six weeks
  19. Senegal – up to 90 days.
  20. Sri Lanka – up to 30 days.
  21. Tanzania – up to 3 months.
  22. The Maldives – up to 30 days.
  23. The Shenzhen province of China. You must have had a visa for China sometime in the past to be eligible.
  24. Timor-Leste – up to 30 days.
  25. Togo – up to 7 days.
  26. Trinidad and Tobago
  27. Trinidad and Tobago – up to 1 month
  28. Uganda

How to Get a Visa on Arrival?

As the name suggests, you get a Visa on Arrival once you arrive at your destination. Unlike a regular visa, you don’t have to go to an Embassy in your home country, although sometimes you have to apply online first.

The requirements for Visa on Arrival for Filipino citizens are different depending on what country you are travelling to. Usually, you need some documents that prove:

  • You have enough financial resources to support last through your trip
  • You will leave the country before your visa expires (such as a return/onward flight ticket)
  • You have accommodation, such as a hotel/Airbnb booking
  • You have adequate travel health insurance

Naturally, you have to learn what documents you will need to present to the Immigration officers before you travel.

Sometimes, you may have to wait a few hours until the visa is processed, but that’s better than waiting a few days or weeks, right?

Countries Where Filipinos Can Get eVisa

If you are a Philippine citizen, you can get an eVisa to travel to the following countries:

  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Armenia – up to 120 days.
  3. Benin – up to 30 days.
  4. Djibouti – up to 31 days.
  5. Ethiopia – up to 90 days. You must enter the country through the Addis Ababa Bole International Airport.
  6. Gabon – you have to enter through the Libreville International Airport.
  7. Georgia – up to 30 days within a 120-day period.
  8. Guinea – up to 90 days.
  9. Guinea-Bissau – up to 90 days.
  10. India – up to 60 days
  11. Kenya – up to 3 months.
  12. Kyrgyzstan – up to 1 month. Once you receive the eVisa, you must only enter through the Manas International Airport or Osh Airport or through the Irkeshtam and Torugart land crossings with China, the  Ak-jol, Ak-Tilek, Chaldybar, Chon-Kapka land crossings with Kazakhstan, the Bor-Dobo, Kulundu, Kyzyl-Bel land crossings with Tajikistan and the Dostuk land crossing with Uzbekistan
  13. Lesotho
  14. Madagascar – up to 90 days
  15. Malawi – up to 90 days.
  16. Pakistan
  17. Papua New Guinea – up to 60 days.
  18. Qatar
  19. Russia – up to 8 days. You can only visit the following regions: Saint Petersburg, Leningrad Region and Kaliningrad Region
  20. Saint Kitts and Nevis – up to 30 days
  21. São Tomé and Príncipe
  22. Sri Lanka – up to 30 days
  23. Tanzania
  24. Tanzania – up to 3 months
  25. Uzbekistan – up to 30 days.

How to Get an eVisa?

You have to get an eVisa online, before you travel to your destination. Government pages usually have their own servers for processing eVisa applications.

Your best bet in finding where to apply for an eVisa is by checking the website of the Embassy or Ministry of Foreign Affairs/Tourism of the country where you want to travel. Usually, the eVisa application link will be there or they will redirect you to the appropriate site.

Sometimes, the online application and the Visa on Arrival are interlinked, in the sense that you apply online for visa authorization, then you get the visa on arrival.

Do Filipinos Need a Visa for Europe?

Yes, Filipino citizens have to apply for a Schengen Visa if they want to travel to a country within the European Union.

If you have a valid Schengen visa, you can also travel to a number of other non-Schengen countries (as long as the visa is still valid), such as:

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Colombia
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Georgia
  • Gibraltar
  • Kosovo
  • North Macedonia
  • Montenegro
  • Romania
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Serbia
  • Turkey

When applying for a Schengen visa, Filipinos need to purchase travel health insurance.